Hoisin Sauce.

This is just a quick one and it wasn’t my idea. I found it here, although I adapted it a little. It was one of the first things to get me started on this homemade trip, and it’s delicious! This is the recipe I ended up using:

4 Tbs soy sauce
2 Tbs peanut butter (I used my homemade stuff)
1.5 Tbs honey
1 Tbs rice vinegar
3 clove of garlic, finely minced. You could use garlic powder too.
1 Tbs chilli sauce – I used Sriracha
1 tsp dark sesame oil (the light stuff is useless for Asian recipes, it just tastes like canola)
fresh ground pepper

So I added more garlic and more chilli than the original calls for. The recipe also says just whisk and you’re done. Not true. I had to put the jar I was mixing in into a bowl half-filled with hot water, so that the honey and peanut butter would melt enough to mix. Depending on the particular honey and peanut butter you use this may be different.

No pics with this one sorry! I’ll update with some pics next time I make it. It’s seriously yummy though and really easy. The first time I made it the only thing I didn’t already have in my kitchen was the rice vinegar, and you could probably try it without that anyway, or maybe with a tiny bit of white vinegar instead.

Oh here’s a picture of one of my favourite foods, san choi bau. You could absolutely make that with this hoisin sauce. Just fry up some onion, garlic, and chicken or pork mince (or tempeh for my vegetarian readers, a few asian veggies and some hoisin. Serve in iceberg lettuce cups and yum it up!

Image

Cheers,

Luci

 

UPDATE: I made this again last night and paired it with prawns and veggies in a stir fry. Yum-O. So here’s a pic:

 

 

From above

 

Cheers, L 🙂

One thought on “Hoisin Sauce.

  1. Pingback: Chicken and Sweet Corn Soup. | I made it myself.

Leave a Reply

