Super Easy Olive Dip.

We have houseguests this weekend – my fiancee’s dad and step mum – so I’m sneaking in a quick bit of blogging before they wake up. Aren’t I industrious? Weird…

Anyway, Germans love their fresh bread rolls and cold meats, cheeses and spreads as breakfast. I already (as always these days) have homemade butter in the fridge, but I wanted something else on the breakfast table that was made by me. Aside from the bread basket, of course. So yesterday I bought some olives.

I always use black olives for this as that’s how I learned to make it (from my sister Petra). You could probably experiment with other olives, but I use the black ones. Plus they give an excellent colour at the end, too.

I could only find black olives that still had the stones in them, so I got to stone removing. 

Image

Does anyone know a quicker/cleaner way to de-stone olives? I know you can buy a special device for it but I”m talking just at home with normal utensils. This way just seemed too messy. Anyway, I ended up with a bowl of olive meat. To turn it in to dip I just pureed it briefly with my trusty stick blender (I really must buy more machines for my kitchen), and added a little sour cream. You could leave the sour cream out if you want, or use a natural yoghurt instead. Add the sour cream and mix through, tasting as you go until it is at the right level of creaminess for you.

And that’s it!

Image

Isn’t it a pretty colour? I leave my dip a little chunky, as I like having the texture. You could blend longer if you prefer it smoother.

I hope you’re having a great weekend so far!

Cheers,

Luci

Leave a Reply

