Tortillas.

I love burritos. It’s basically the only thing I ever order if I eat at a mexican restaurant. And these days I’m in a ‘if it can be made, I’m going to try making it’ mood. So I looked up a few different tortilla recipes and decided to give it a go. I decided to use a combination of half plain flour and half corn meal, because I couldn’t decide which I wanted more. I’m super-indecisive. Anyway, all the recipes said to add about a cup of water to a cup of flour, but I ended up having to add a whole lot more flour as it was way too sticky at first. I also added a little baking powder to give it a little lift.

So mix flour, baking powder and warm water. Mix it well and leave it to sit for 5 minutes or so, then split it into golf-ball sized portions. I actually made mine a little smaller, but that resulted in too-small tortillas. Learn from my mistakes.

Image

 

The Millennium-falcon shaped one was unintentional, but awesome. Also tasty 🙂

They took longer to cook than I expected, so my meat and bean mix ended up cooking a lot longer than expected. Still tasted darn good though.

So the recipe goes:

1.5 cups corn meal

1.5 cups plain flour

0.25 teaspoons baking powder

approx. 1 cup warm water

Mix well, let sit for 5 mins. Roll on well-floured surface. Careful not to make them too thin as they will get too crispy and don’t wrap up properly. The best thickness was about 2-3mm uncooked.

Cook on medium heat without oil. Use a non-stick or cast iron pan. Cook about 3 minutes per side or until there are a few browned spots. Keep warm in the oven while the others cook, at about 80 degrees.

I served with a tomato-avocado-spinach-lemon juice-red onion-tabasco salsa, and a meat and bean mix with onion, garlic, mushroom, red capsicum, cumin, paprika, pepper, red kidney beans and minced pork mix. Serve with more tabasco and sour cream, if you’re into such things. 

I didn’t get a photo of the compiled burrito as I was way too hungry to remember to take photos, but this is the salsa:

Image

 

And of course the cooked tortillas:

Image

I had a few over-crispy ones but the taste was right, and Dom ate five of them so I think he was happy too!

That’s it for now, gotta cook tonight’s dinner 🙂

Cheers,

Luci

2 thoughts on “Tortillas.

  1. They look delicious. I have a tortilla press, which saves on the rolling. i also use a white corn flour,. when I can get it. it is a mexican flour used for making tortillas and corn chips etc. Yum yum

Leave a Reply

