Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes.

This is another recipe in my list of things to do with the leftover buttermilk from making butter. Sunday mornings are the traditional day that, as kids, we would have pancake breakfast. Feeling in the mood to be traditional, I got a-cooking this Sunday.

Image

I had some blueberries in the freezer. I’m becoming a fan of frozen fruits and veggies, as it seems to me the better option than going without, in Germany’s mostly season-driven produce market. I had just about exactly 500ml buttermilk, too, so that bode well for my recipe. 

Image

My cupboards and fridge shelves are filling up with these dodgy-labeled containers now, as I keep experimenting. I should probably start making nicer labels. Anyone got any suggestions? We do have a new printer now so I probably should use it…

Anyway, the recipe is just a variation on my usual pancake recipe, which omits the sugar and blueberries and uses whole milk instead of buttermilk. The recipe I used on Sunday is as follows:

2 cups plain flour

2.5 teaspoons baking powder

Pinch salt

2 tablespoons sugar (or more if you like it sweet)

2 eggs

2 cups buttermilk

1/4 cup melted unsalted butter, plus some for frying

1 cup thawed frozen blueberries

Mix dry ingredients and wet ingredients separately, then mix together briefly, being careful not to over mix. I have to include this Cook’s Note from the recipe linked below: Make a lumpy batter. Over mixed batter will result in flat, heavy pancakes. Add blueberries at the end and mix through.

I did consult this recipe, just to make sure buttermilk doesn’t need any special treatment. It doesn’t. 🙂

Heat your pan and add a little butter. Spoon on the right amount of mix, for whatever size you’d like your pancake. Cook for a few minutes per side.

Image

Keep pancakes warm in the oven if you’d like to serve them all at once. I served mine with maple syrup, whipped cream and fresh raspberries. Yum-O!

Hope you’re having a great day!

Cheers,

Luci

Leave a Reply

