Rosemary and Sea Salt Crispbread.

I’m on a bit of a mission at the moment to try to stop Dom from eating packaged snack foods every day (I call them MSG-Snacks). He loves to eat salty snacks in front of the TV at night, though, so I’m looking for ever more homemade snack ideas. The kale chips were pretty popular (though I struggle to make enough to share, I can’t stop eating the damn things. I ate some with my breakfast this morning…), and today I’ll share another success story.

Image

I actually made these to take with me to a party at my friend Sabine’s apartment (you may remember her as my lovely Reformation Day Bread-making instructor), but I had to make a fair bit extra as Dom and I needed some for-now snacks too. 

The party was great and the bread was super-popular. I love this recipe as it tastes amazing but it’s surprisingly (to me) easy to make. 

I found the recipe over at Smitten Kitchen, which is a site I’ve found recently and fallen in love with. The recipe goes like this:

1 3/4 cups plain flour
1 tablespoon chopped rosemary plus some sprigs unchopped as garnish
1 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt plus some for on top 
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup olive oil plus more for brushing

Preheat oven to 200°C.

Stir together flour, chopped rosemary, baking powder, and salt. Make a well in center, add water and oil and gradually stir until a dough forms. Knead gently, just 4 or 5 times.

Divide dough into 3 pieces and roll out 1 piece (keep remaining pieces covered with plastic wrap) on a sheet of baking paper – dough should be fairly thin. 

Image

Lightly brush top with additional oil and scatter small clusters of rosemary leaves on top, pressing in slightly. Sprinkle with sea salt.

Leave the dough on the baking paper and put the whole thing in the oven. Bake 8 to 10 minutes, or until it starts to brown. The browner, the crispier, so try it out and work out what you like best.

Image

 

Roll out the next dough just before you want to cook it, and add oil, rosemary springs and salt immediately before it goes in the oven.

Transfer cooked bread to a rack to cool, then break into pieces.

I also made some hummus and some olive dip to go with this, but it’s pretty freakin’ yummy on it’s own as well.Image

You could mix this up with other herbs, or add pepper or chilli flakes too. The possibilities are endless!

Hope you’ve had a great weekend, 

Cheers,

Luci

8 thoughts on “Rosemary and Sea Salt Crispbread.

  1. hey Luci
    I made this recipe with 1/2 wholemeal 1/2 white flour added pepper and sesame seeds. Yum. am having for dinner tonight with homemade dolmades , tatziki, garlic mushrooms and salad. Can’t wait. thanks for inspiring me from across the world xxxxx

  2. It was truly delicious and not as dry as I had expected. Next new year’s resolution: follow your blog, try out the presented recipes! 😉

Leave a Reply

