Natural Toothpaste.

This is another one I’ve been making for quite a while, but I’ve avoided posting about it for a kind of silly reason: I’m embarrassed by my photography skills and this is particularly tricky to get in a photo. I’ve decided to share anyway!Image

I’ve tried a few different toothpaste DIY’s that I’ve found online, but this one is what has worked for me. As a former dental nurse, I know that toothpaste is actually unnecessary if the brushing and flossing techniques are thorough enough (and the visits to the dentist are regular), but I like having that just-brushed minty taste and so do most people. I tried the baking-soda paste option but it was too rough on my gums – I think it was actually giving me chemical burns! Then i found references online that you can use coconut oil as a carrier for toothpaste. Oh-ho, thought I, and got a-mixing.

The recipe goes:

4 tablespoons pure virgin coconut oil

1 tablespoon baking soda

2 tablespoons cornstarch (or arrowroot powder)

~10 drops peppermint oil, or to taste

As the coconut oil is solid at room temperature, i add it to whatever i plan to keep the toothpaste in (a little jar works for me) and put the jar in a bowl of hot water (not too deep, the water shouldn’t get in to the coconut oil), to melt it a little to allow mixing through of the other ingredients. Mix in the baking soda and cornstarch, and add the peppermint oil a little at a time until the smell/taste seems right to you. 

That’s it really! I use a spoon to get the toothpaste onto my toothbrush, just to keep it fairly clean. Store in the cupboard and use as normal.

THIS is my dodgy picture that is why I almost didn’t post, by the way.

Image

 

Sorry about that one.

I’ve been using this recipe for a few months now and my gums love it! 

Cheers,

Luci

One thought on “Natural Toothpaste.

  1. Pingback: Natural Shampoo. | I made it myself.

Leave a Reply

