Apple Sauce.

I bought some apples recently and while they looked and smelled apple-y and wonderful, when I bit into one it was soft and squishy and just the wrong texture. There’s nothing worse than a Disappointment Apple. Well, as far as apples go, anyway. So I decided to cook the apples up, because they still had such a wonderful flavour and aroma. I peeled them because the internet recommended it, but actually I think next time I wouldn’t. I’m lazy, and anyway there’s tons of goodness in the peel.

Image

So I chopped up the peeled, cored apples (I used three), put them in a saucepan and added a little water, maybe 5mm in the bottom of the pan. It’s better to add less and top it up than to make it too watery. The recipe goes something like this:

3 apples, cored and peeled (optional)

1/4 cup water

1 tablespoon maple syrup (or sugar)

a good few shakes of cinnamon

about half as much nutmeg

a little dash of salt

Put everything in a saucepan, cover and heat on low to medium, so the water gently simmers. Don’t let it dry out too much, add more water as needed but only a little at a time. Stir regularly and when the apples squish when pressed lightly with the back of a spoon, you’re done. Mash with a fork, masher, back of spoon, whatever. Taste and enjoy! I ate some of it with greek yogurt as a snack, and some more with the roast pork I made. Yum. 

Image

 

I love simple warming winter recipes! Do you have any favourites?

Cheers,

Luci

3 thoughts on “Apple Sauce.

  1. Next time, don’t core them! Cut away stalks and bottom, leave the rest. When the pieces are soft and squishy and the peel comes of, it’s time to pass the mass through a sieve. A wooden pestle is very useful for that task, I find. Peel and core are full of natural gelling agent, pectin, so you will have to add a bit more water, but it gives the apple sauce a nice texture (it can actually be really thick and doesn’t deserve the name sauce) and more vitamines, if they are not all destroyed by the heat.

Leave a Reply

