Smashed Potatoes.

Crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside; that’s how roasted potatoes should be. Unfortunately, I don’t always seem to get them quite right when i bake spuds. Enter smashed potatoes! This is a super-easy recipe that is great on cold, rainy days like today (come back, sunshine!). 

photo 4

 

Dom’s out for a work dinner tonight which means I was just cooking for myself and my lunch tomorrow, so I took 8 smallish potatoes and boiled them whole in lightly salted water. Once they were soft through, I drained them and laid them in a baking tray. Then comes the smashing! I learned this from my cousin Jimmy a couple of years back but forgot about it until recently. Using a spatula or the back of a large spoon, press into the top of the potatoes until they get this squished, popped-open look. I think I could have boiled them a bit longer and they would have smooshed better, but I was hungry so this is how they are. Then simply drizzle with olive oil, add some salt and pepper, and pop in a 180 degree oven for half an hour.

Before:

photo 1

 

After:

photo 2

Yum! I served with sour cream and steamed green veggies, it was delicious. A big plate of  vegetables is one of my favourite comfort foods for rainy days. What’s your favourite? 

Cheers,

Luci

3 thoughts on “Smashed Potatoes.

Leave a Reply

