It’s a Lamp!

(imagine the title being read in the same way Admiral Ackbar says “it’s a trap!” in Return of the Jedi. Yep I’m feeling nerdy!)

So I managed to break my bedside lamp a while ago (ok, several months ago…) in the most lame of ways – I dropped a tube of lip gloss onto the glass lampshade and it made a perfect little hole in the side and a shower of glass splinters. I wish I’d taken a photo as it was quite cute but yeah broken glass doesn’t work as a bedroom feature. Not in my house at least, some people might be into it though, who knows?

Anyway, I’ve been living without a bedside lamp ever since, using the torch app on my phone when I want to read in bed. This isn’t ideal so I’ve been on the lookout for a replacement, with the thought that I might try to DIY something (maybe even make a replacement lampshade as the rest of it is still totally fine). I had spontaneously bought a string of cheap white LED lights a while back with the thought that maybe I’d use them on our balcony but hadn’t got round to stringing them up. Then I was at a second hand market a little while ago and saw a big ol’ glass bottle that gave me an idea, so i forked out the 5 euros and brought it home. 

OK

 

I don’t know if this even counts as a DIY but I’m really happy with how it turned out. I just fed the string of lights in and let them pool in the bottom of the bottle, with just a few leading up to the neck as the light-less section of cord was relatively short, but the little light poking out at the top makes it seem vaguely lantern-like to me. The light it throws is soft and lovely thanks to the kinda smoky-gold colour of the glass, but still bright enough to read by. Very important for me 🙂

What do you think? It’s something different and a little decorative, which is a big step for me as I usually go for strictly practical household items but I’m trying to branch out a little!

good needs cropping

Cheers,

Luci

10 thoughts on “It’s a Lamp!

    • haha no problem 🙂 Dom thinks it’s too dim for reading, but it’s on my side of the bed and my eyesight is a bit better than his so it works for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

